Panchakarma - An Introduction

The five different types of treatments in Panchakarma therapy include:

Vamana Karma (use of emetics):

This treatment is used for ‘Kapha’ disorders like asthma, cold, bronchitis and sinus. It is a medicated therapy that removes Kapha toxins accumulated in the body and the respiratory tract causing excess mucus. Once the mucus is released, the person feels relieved instantly.

Basti Karma (medicated enema):

It is the most effective treatment for vata disorders. The treatment helps to promote emission in the colon and hence ensures good health. This treatment is highly beneficial in cleansing and detoxifying the body.

Virechana Therapy (use of laxatives):

This treatment is used to treat toxic substances from the gall bladder. It is a very effective technique to purify the body. It also helps to cure disorders like hyperacidity, skin disorders, digestive disorders, ulcer and constipation.

Rakta Mokshana (blood-letting):

This is basically purification of the blood. It is a complicated procedure and is used in general Panchakarma treatment. In this treatment, impure blood from the body is removed by using surgical instruments to remove the toxins in the blood.

Nasya Karma (nasal administration):

In this therapy, herbal stems are inhaled through the nose that clears the nasal passages and lungs. The pleasant smell of the essential oils used in this help a lot in removing the toxins in the head, eyes, nose and other areas.

The duration of the Panchakarma therapy is from three to seven days. Before prescribing any therapy, first, the physical and mental condition of the person is considered. Panchakarma is a vital Ayurvedic treatment which requires proper guidance and administration. Sometimes not everyone requires all the five types of Panchakarma. So it is highly recommended that this therapy should be undertaken with proper observation and supervision of a trained Ayurvedic practitioner.